Monmouth County NJ Sexual Assault Defense Lawyers
Sexual Assault is considered one of the most egregious sex crimes in New Jersey, with repercussions that extend far beyond an individual’s current circumstances. Specifically, if you are found guilty of sexual assault, State law requires your sentence to include a 5 to 10-year term of imprisonment, 85% of which must be served per the dictates of the No Early Release Act (NERA), mandatory sex offender registration under New Jersey’s Megan’s Law, and community supervision for life.
In addition to the reputation-shattering effects of these allegations, you may also be subjected to a psychosexual evaluation, known as an Avenel Evaluation, during which a psychological professional will determine whether or not you are likely to be a repetitive and compulsive offender and thus, a greater risk to the community.
Clearly, the implications of a sexual offense charge are far-reaching and often irreversible if an individual is convicted. Hiring a defense attorney with experience representing clients in these types of cases is crucial, as the specialized techniques used to effectively address each facet of a sex crime case are of the utmost importance when working to achieve a desirable outcome.
The attorneys at Chamlin, Rosen, Uliano & Witherington have developed an extensive body of skills through their tireless work on behalf of clients accused of sex crimes in Monmouth County and throughout New Jersey. To discuss your case with a member of our aggressive defense team, contact our West Long Branch office today at 732-440-3950.
Sexual Assault in NJ: N.J.S.A. 2C:14-2(b) and N.J.S.A. 2C:14-2(c)
New Jersey Law outlines charges for sexual assault in N.J.S.A. 2C:14-2(b) and N.J.S.A. 2C:14-2(c), providing the following with regard to these offenses:
b. An actor is guilty of sexual assault if he commits an act of sexual contact with a victim who is less than 13 years old and the actor is at least four years older than the victim.
c. An actor is guilty of sexual assault if he commits an act of sexual penetration with another person under any one of the following circumstances:
1. The actor uses physical force or coercion, but the victim does not sustain severe personal injury;
2. The victim is on probation or parole, or is detained in a hospital, prison or other institution and the actor has supervisory or disciplinary power over the victim by virtue of the actor’s legal, professional or occupational status;
3. The victim is at least 16 but less than 18 years old and:
a. The actor is related to the victim by blood or affinity to the third degree; or
b. The actor has supervisory or disciplinary power of any nature or in any capacity over the victim; or
c. The actor is a resource family parent, a guardian, or stands in loco parentis within the household;
4. The victim is at least 13 but less than 16 years old and the actor is at least four years older than the victim.
Penalties for Sexual Assault in New Jersey
Sexual assault is a second degree crime, punishable by a host of penalties, including: a term of incarceration ranging from 5 to 10 years in New Jersey State Prison, mandatory registration as a sex offender under New Jersey’s Megan’s Law, a psychosexual evaluation often referred to as an “Avenel Evaluation,” and life-long community supervision. In addition, these offenses are among those enumerated in the No Early Release Act, which requires those convicted to serve 85% of the sentence imposed before becoming eligible for parole.
Contact Marlboro NJ Sexual Assault Lawyers for Help with Your Case
For additional information as to how the Monmouth and Ocean County sexual assault defense lawyers at Chamlin, Rosen, Uliano & Witherington can assist you in successfully resolving your criminal case, contact our West Long Branch office at 732-440-3950. A member of our legal team will be pleased to provide you with a free consultation.