Statute of Limitations in Personal Injury Claims Attorneys Monmouth County NJ
Knowing more about the process and the projected timeline is a good first step in the right direction.
In New Jersey, the statute of limitations on Personal Injury cases is two years from the date of the accident and injury. New Jersey Statutes Section 2A:14-2, states that: “Every action at law for an injury to the person caused by the wrongful act, neglect or default of any person within this State shall be commenced within two years next after the cause of any such action shall have accrued.” Although the statute of limitations for civil and criminal cases in New Jersey vary, they function as a way to prevent too much passage of time before a lawsuit can be filed. It also serves to preserve evidence, to prevent it from being destroyed or lost, and is beneficial as it relates to calling witnesses and their ability to recall details and testify to their knowledge of the case. Before you file a legal claim, it’s highly recommended that you consult a skilled attorney as early in the process as possible, who can calculate the deadline for your personal injury claim our other case and ensure that your action is timely.
If you or someone you love has been injured, contact our team of attorneys at Chamlin, Uliano & Walsh for a free and confidential consultation regarding your personal injuries, your options for recovering compensation, and how we can specifically help you.
What If I Miss the Filing Deadline for my Ocean County Personal Injury Claim?
If you miss the time to file, you may no longer be able to proceed with your lawsuit and could be barred from ever seeking relief in court.
Unless you have a rare exception (i.e., under 18 years of age at the time of the accident, have a mental disability or the person allegedly responsible for the injuries left NJ at some point after the accident, but before the lawsuit was filed, or as a result of medical malpractice whereby you may not have known you were injured), you may have lost your right to ask the court to award you compensation for your injuries, no matter how significant they might be, and no matter how obvious their liability.
Statute of Limitations for Filing Personnel Injury Claim in New Jersey
- Assault and Battery, 2 years
- False Imprisonment, 2 years
- Medical Malpractice, 2 years
- Personal Injury, 2 years
- Product Liability, 2 years
- Property Damage, 6 years
- Sexual Assault Survivors
- Adult survivors can file a civil claim within 7 years of the date of discovery of their injury
- Minor survivors can file civil claims until the age of 55, or 7 years from the time they become aware of their injury, whichever is later
- Wrongful Death, 2 years
Protect Your Rights. Get Justice. File Your Personal Injury Claim Right Away
Everyone who is wrongly injured has a right to seek justice. It is vital that victims of personal injury accidents and abuse understand the statutes of limitations related to their particular case and act within the legal time frame to get justice and/or the compensation they are entitled to.
Don’t Wait. Contact Our Monmouth County, NJ Personal Injury Attorneys Today
Do not delay in contacting us, if you or someone you love has sustained an injury resulting from someone else’s inattention, neglect, mistake, or carelessness. Your case may be subject to a statute of limitations or time limit requirement that directly affects its viability. Knowing more about the process and the projected timeline is a good first step in the right direction.
At Chamlin, Uliano & Walsh, our personal injury attorneys have extensive experience resolving personal injury claims in towns across West Long Branch, Red Bank, Colts Neck, Deal, and across Monmouth County, and we are ready to put our experience on your side today.
To speak with our experienced personal injury team today in a free and confidential consultation regarding your injuries, your options for recovering compensation, and how we can specifically help you to do so, please contact us online, or through our West Long Branch, NJ office at (732) 440-3950.